Gisborough Moor G/TW-003 & higher Non-SOTA sum

Me and the XYL are off to the Yorkshire coast for a weeks holiday week after next – planning to include a SOTA activation on one of the days.

I’m a SOTA newbie after my first activation from Snowdon a few weeks ago. G/TW-003 Gisborough Moor is the nearest one to our cottage.

However whilst browsing over my OS Map I’ve found a summit near to Danby High Moor which at 405 Mtr ASL is 77 mts higher than Gisborough moor. It’s OS Grid Ref is NZ 71607 01015. It’s 8.08 miles on a bearing of 329 Deg from G/TW-003.

Is there any reason why this isn’t classified as a SOTA summit ? Is there some topographic reason why it doesn’t qualify or is it just that no one has activated it and added it to the Database ? As it has a car park and a pub in reasonable proximity it would be quite handy !!

PS. Sorry for the simply newbie questions.

Regards & 73’s
Steve
G6UYG

In reply to G6UYG:

I know the summit you mean Steve, Ive operated from there & its very boggy. It doesn`t count for SOTA because you can travel from there to Urra Moor TW-001 (454m) without descending the mandatory 150m. Now if we had P100 this and many other fine summits would count. Have a good holiday, if you drink real ale, I can recommend the Tap & Spile in Guisborough.

In reply to G1INK:

I can recommend the Tap & Spile in Guisborough

It was always The Mucky Duck (Black Swan) whenever I had a drink in Guisborough. Probably because of all the NWOBHM songs on the jukebox. But that was 29 years ago!

In reply to G6UYG: