Getting Antennas into Trees

I have been experimenting with getting antennas into trees. I’m no expert but my technique is improving. May be of use for SOTA. How do you do it?

8 Likes

I tried several different approaches to launching antennas in the trees, including buying both the arborist bag and line. I’ve never tried the reverse toss, but am pretty sure my results would have been the same as with other methods – one epic failure after another!

I found myself spending more time trying to get a good toss than operating. Sometimes the only trees available were at the edge of a downslope, sometimes making a miss an interesting challenge to retrieve the line. Other times the line would get tangled in heavy underbrush, requiring time to extract before the next attempt. My goal was to find a reliable repeatable process, and I simply couldn’t make that happen with a weight and line. I salute those of you that can do this!

I’m now using a telescoping fishing pole with some lightweight options to secure it as needed. I can reliable and consistently deploy that everywhere I’ve activated so far, so the time between summit arrival and QRV is more consistent (and short!).

73 Paula k9ir

3 Likes

I use my tame squirrel. I gave him a choice - die or carry my antennae. He chose life :chipmunk:

8 Likes

Dog ball thrower works a treat !

2 Likes

The hills around here are a bit short on trees at the summit. Would it count if I carried my own tree up to the top? :slight_smile:

6 Likes

I had exactly the same experience, and came to exactly the same solution. Now I don’t bother trying to get a line over a tree branch.The set-up is much faster, and I have one less hassle.

2 Likes

Most of the summits in my neck of the woods have trees on them, so I frequently do similar to get my doublet as high as possible, with a couple of exceptions: