First Winter Activation Attempt - WA2AKV

Original html deleted after Barry’s fix posted

Here’s the translation:

Winter Outdoor QRP Operation WA2AKV

I am a real newbie at this and there are many folks far knowledgeable and experienced than I, but I am eager to learn and to share any bits of information with the amateur radio community in this endeavor. Like any journey, each begins with a first step. So here is my little diary of a recent outdoor winter QRP adventure. I hope it spurs interest and helps those of similar persuasion. Comments and questions are welcome – hgrant@h-grant.com

Date and Location
42.035 , Longitude: -74.497Summit Route and Hike-In

I entered the Big Indian Wilderness area From Burnham Hollow Rd thence to Huron Trail, then bushwhacked to summit approx. 2.5 miles – 5-6 hrs. round trip. The terrain is very steep and rocky with some stands of old growth hemlock, rushing streams and abundant wild-life, deer, bear, bob-cat and coyote. I saw plentiful tracks of each except bear.

I did NOT make the summit on this trip due to my first-time experience with a heavily loaded internal frame backpack. I also forgot to bring a camera and a watch, a big mistake, no way to determine rendezvous time with my hiking partner and to accurately log contacts. So I erred on the side of caution and did not press for the summit. Instead I setup on a broad flat area within sight but 500-800 feet below summit.

During the morning hike-in, I eventually learned how to adjust the hip-belt of my pack. The hip belt affectively transfers most of the pack weight to the hips. Totally amazing how comfortable the load became once the strain came off my neck and shoulders. The hip-belt really works.

Antenna