DIY Battery Questions

I built a 4x3.7V 26650 LFP cell battery pack with a CF-4S30A-A BMS based on OH8STN’s videos. A few questions:

1. I had charged the new 26650 batteries on a LFP slot charger that came with some 18650 batteries before the build and measure -15.6V for the DIY battery pack on my VOM. Is that likley overcharge from the slot charger?

2. My VOM measures -15.6V - the Black test lead on the -P pad and Red lead on the +P pad of the CF-4S30A-A BMS. I guess I don’t understand why that’s reading a -V rather than +V (I’m a biologist).

3. How best to discharge from 15.6V down to a safe operating range? I’m not sure what to use for a load. Can I splice some Power Poles onto a coax jumper and discharge into a 50ohm Dummy Load?

4. I have Power Poles on wires soldered to the -P/+P pads - can I use my Bioenno battery charger to charge my DIP battery pack? The charger specs are - Output: 14.6VDC, 2A (CC/CV Charge Profile for LiFePO4 Batteries).

I have a Genasun GV-5-mod charge controller on order for use with a solar panel but that’s a few weeks out on delivery.

Thanks! Bret/N4SRN

4 Likes

I use a DC to DC converter (3 or 5 A max) . Very small, cheap and may be regulated to any voltage under the input line voltage (I use it at 12,5V for SW-3B radio and for uSDX

3 Likes

I think the BMS will maintain future charges to 14.8V maximum, so I’m just looking for a safe way to drain the battery from 15.6V down to below 14.8V. I have a 12V regulator on my QDX as you describe. I see the (tr)uSDX spec is up to 16V but others have suggested higher duty cycles might blow the finals.

1 Like

Hmmm… LFP is Lithium Iron Phosphate or LiFePO. After fully charging, allow the cells to “rest” and the voltage for the pack should be 13.6V +/- so 15.6V sounds very high.

My charger for 4x LFP cells stops charging at 14.4V.

Something needs checking carefully in the setup I think.

2 Likes

Continuing the discussion from DIY Battery Questions: