Combined SOTA & WWFF activations

Has anybody tried this recently?

Looking back over old topics there were a couple of threads around 2014 & 2015 where anecdotally a couple of people mentioned that it increased the number of chasers (there was also a comment about things getting a little unruly with WWFF chasers…I’m not sure if that was a fair comment), but not much has been posted about it recently.

I’ve never done WWFF before but note that my planned activations for next week all fall within the boundaries of WWFF recognised national parks so thought that I might give it a go whilst I’m there.

G/DC-001 (High Willhays) is in Dartmoor National Park.

I also intend to activate G/SC-001 (Dunkery Beacon) & G/SC-005 (Selworthy Beacon) on my way through. Both of which are in Exmoor National Park.

My understanding is that WWFF requires 44 contacts which don’t all have to take place at the same time & operation from a motorhome is permitted.

My thinking was to activate the SOTA summits in the morning, then operate mobile from the car park for a couple of hours from the motorhome in the afternoon & combine the QSO’s from both activations to (hopefully) get more than 44 QSO’s in total.

I don’t see any problems in the rules with this as long as the contacts uploaded to the SOTA database were carried out within SOTA rules (portable & within the activation zone, not inside the vehicle etc).

Does WWFF tend to drum up much chaser activity?

Am I setting myself up for a nightmare trying to combine two award schemes into one activation?

Interested to hear other’s experiences?

3 Likes

It’s a popular combination in VK. WWFF keeps you busy because there are additional chasers, also you can have contacts with the same station on different modes and bands. Since there is no requirement under either programme to limit contacts to specific chaser types, all contacts count other than repeat contacts on the same band and mode.

73 Andrew VK1DA/VK2UH

3 Likes