Carbon fiber mast vs glass fiber mast

I’m a noob as ham op (got my license in Sep.2023).

Until now I’ve been using my EFHW wire 40m antenna hunging it in a tree. I want a mast for the backpack but I read that carbon fiber ones aren’t good for this purpose, but I’m watching operators working with them.

I like a fishing rod of 6m, 12 segments, (57cms folded), 530grs. but it’s made of fiber carbon.

I watched another one of 7m (59cms folded) made of glass fiber, but it weights 1,7kg, and it’s triple price.

Is really noticeable the difference between a carbon fiber mast and a glass fiber one?

Thanks in advance!

73’s

1 Like

Many of us use glass fibre Decathlon poles like this:

They do not weigh anything like 1.7kg.

They seem to be discontinued though and the others they sell are carbon fibre.

1 Like

I have a 6m carbon fibre mast, the top sections are removed so it is about 5.3m effective. I used this with an EFHW in inverted L, i.e. wire runs up mast vertically about 4.5-5m then extends out. It’s not horizontal but slopes to a pole so the far end is about 1m AGL.

I do not run the wire close to the carbon mast but I do run it close to fibreglass masts. I also use a tuneable match unit so differences between the masts can be adjusted out.

Here is how I arrange the wire on the carbon mast, the wire was feint so it is picked out in yellow. This arrange minimises any effect the carbon mast has on the tuning.

It would probably work a bit better if the feed end was raised off the ground 1m or so.

EDIT: The mast came from Decathlon, Caperlan Lakeside 600 and is 40cm collapsed and weighs 322g. It says 1.8kg on it and that is the break strain when a fishing line is connected to the top.

4 Likes