Best HF CW Backpack Rig

Im just starting out on SOTA and have a question about HF rigs. What is the best rig for HF operation on 20 or 30 meters CW? There is a lot of talk about the Yaesu FT 817 and the Elecraft K3. Im interested in a good 5 watt CW rig with good frequency versatility, stability, selectivity and low power consumption. The field doesn’t have to be limited to CW. I prefer CW due to its DX range over a 5 watt SSB signal. I have yet to purchase an HF rig and would appreciate any thoughts on what works for SOTA operation. Thanks in advance.

In reply to W6AH:

Have a look at the Elecraft KX3 (not the K3!) and the PFR-3 (CW-only, 40-30-20m 4W Trcv). I have both and used the PFR-3 on more than 140 summit activations. I like the built-in Z-match tuner and the low power consumption. Since August I have a KX3, more expensive than the PFR-3 but also more more versatile (all mode 160 - 6m) and a high quality receiver. The built-in tuner workes just great. I can tune a 2x7m wire dipole from 40 to 10m and with limited bandwith even on 80m.

73 Heinz, OE5EEP

In reply to W6AH:
Congrats on recognizing the DX superiority of CW for SOTA operating.

If you’re not dead set on 5 watts, I’d recommend the KX1. What’s nice about the KX1 (and KX3) is the built-in automatic antenna tuner. It makes portable operation a breeze with random end-fed wire antenna. The KX1 is also VERY light, well under a pound.

The Weber tribander looks very nice, although it lacks the antenna tuner. KD1JV has brought out many fine cw radios over the past few years targeted at portable operation (ATS, PFR, MTR).

The FT817 will also do a fine job, but it’s a heavier radio (over 2lbs). It’s fairly rugged though, something lacking in the KX3.

Power consumption on any of these radios is not an issue. A 2000-3000mAh LiPO battery weighing under 200g will provide several hours of operation.

73/GL,
Barry N1EU

In reply to N1EU:

The Weber tribander looks very nice, although it lacks the antenna