Ben Macdui tomorrow

Attempting rockmite activation of ES-001 tomorrow, as a relative cw novice I may be biting off more than I can chew but we’ll see. If the band is busy around 7.029 it may not happen. If so I should be ok on 20m with the sw+20 which is having its first outing, this one may drift a little if it’s very cold. I’ll adjust the vfo to try and stay on qrg.

Hope I’ll be able to work some of you. I’ve not been out for a while, so with good weather forecast I’m quite looking forward to Ben Macdui via Lurchers Crag.

In reply to MM0GYX:

Good luck tomorrow. I shall be stuck at work though I’ll keep an eye on the SMSbot just in case. Your test spot came through OK. I’ve deleted now.

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to MM0FMF:
Thanks Andy, there’s another sms on its way. I forgot how to use it and wanted to insert the mode and see the comment, I forgot the mode first time round. I’m happy now though.

In reply to MM0GYX:

Result!

Ian’s been spotted by Rich N4EX on 20m using his sw+20 QRP rig. That’s 5900km +/- on 2.5W. Sweet :wink:

Andy
MM0FMF

5900km +/- on 2.5W. Sweet :wink:

Even better - An SW20+ doesn’t actually put out 2.5W - it puts out around 1.5 Watt on 13.5V and nearer to 1 Watt from a typical SLAB supply. That’s with the wick turned up!

I strongly suspect Ian’s rig is running a whole lot less than 2.5W!

Colin
M0CGH

In reply to MM0GYX:
Ben Macdui via Lurchers Crag.

Hi Ian, Hope the WX was good and the rigs got you plenty of contacts.

Last time I activated that one was 03 & 04 August 1993 with an 8W home brew on 80m CW. Your post here was read with considerable envy as I would dearly love to go back & do it again for SOTA!

73, John.

Me and Jimmy did it with Barry GM4TOE, and combined it with ES-005 for a 20 point outing. A great day’s walking. The curry in Aviemore afterwards was very welcome, but the drive back to Lossiemouth was not :wink:

Tom M1EYP

In reply to MM0GYX:
Good luck,