Batteries and Chargers

Hi, I’m new to SOTA and I would like to start. However I am having great difficulty locating Lifepo batteries in the United Kingdom. Many of the local battery suppliers in my area don’t have a clue what I am talking about and seem to think I’m off my tree! They sell automotive and leisure lead acid batteries.

The only supplier I found online is Hobby King. They seem to be focussed on the radio control model market. While they do have a suitable lifepo battery available, suitable balance chargers are nowhere to be found. Again, all the electrical suppliers have no idea what I am going on about and have never heard of Lifepo or balanced chargers! Of the places that do have them in their catalogue, they are out of stock absolutely everywhere! Literally everywhere with no indication of when they will be in stock if ever.

Is there a national shortage of Lifepo batteries and chargers? If so? Why? It seems like a barrier preventing me from starting SOTA unless I can carry a heavy lead acid battery up to the summits!

Am I going the wrong way about this? Does anyone have any suggestions? I can’t see any way forward. No point buying a battery that I cannot charge.

1 Like

Welcome to SOTA! Many activators use batteries and chargers sourced from Hobby King. I have their Turnigy Accucell 6 charger and it has been excellent. There might be a newer version of it. I have several LiPO batteries from them, from 500-2400 mAh, 3S and 4S.

73, Barry N1EU

3 Likes

Thanks, but the problem is I cannot get a hold of one of these chargers. They are completely out of stock absolutley everywhere. Either they are no longer being manufactured or there is a national shortage of them for some reason. It seems to be a real barrier for me doing SOTA as the only other option I can think of is to carry a lead acid battery.

Hi Austin

Welcome aboard!

I bought a LiFePo and charger from Hobby King a few years ago, but that is not helpful if you are struggling right now.