Anyone combine motorbikes and SOTA?

I’m in the early stages of planning a highland tour on a motorbike which will include - obviously - some SOTA activity. I am looking into the prospect of buying an ‘adventure’ bike.

I know you lot are a resourceful bunch, and are a whole more worldy than myself, so I ask for any advice you may have.

Having watched some adventure tours on YouTube covering various countries and off-road trails there are definitely opportunities to combine the two, but my sole bike for 23 years is a 1999 R1 so I know very little about such things. It may be I ride the bike on the roads, camp, and walk the hills entirely separately.

Thanks in advance!

Mark.

3 Likes

Hi Mark,
I am fairly new to SOTA but have managed two activations this summer by bike (triumph ST955) as day trips. I have previously done runs throughout the Highlands and Islands with a group of bikes (Old Gits on Tour). We have tended to stay in Bunkhouses and Hostels, it avoids having to carry a tent but sometimes need a sleeping bag. I am planning some trips up North myself next year with the SOTA gear. Previously I have just taken a receiver for SWL and weather satellite reception. If you would like some info on bunkhouses and hostels PM me (email from QRZ).
Hope this helps.
Andy
MM7MOX

1 Like

Hi Mark, There are (unfortunately) no green lanes in Scotland, so there are limited opportunities to use your bike on tracks and trails. I still see plenty of adventure bikers on the “snow Road” route which isn’t too far from my home. They’re mainly BMW 1200GS with hard luggage. You have to look the part, after all!

3 Likes

Hi Mark,
I forgot to add that we go to some length’s to avoid the A9 between Perth and Inverness !
Andy
MM7MOX

2 Likes

I’ve never had a motorbike but having watched that ionic film Electra Glide in Blue (back in 1973) I’ve always fancied that Harley-Davidson for touring.

Plenty of storage space to stow SOTA gear.

3 Likes

DEET resistant wet weather gear?