Activation of EA1, EA2, EA3 and (impossibly) C3 Andorra

When I mentioned to my very good friend Harry that I wanted to do a SOTA trip to northern Spain, he reminded me that his mother has a cottage in Cambrils, an hour south of Barcelona. And during the month of December it is typically vacant, so we had free use of it. It was the perfect base of operations for this project, and the price was perfect! Further, Harry has spent so much time in Spain that he is fluent in Spanish. He›s also a language instructor by profession, primarily German as a second language, often helping people become fluent enough to pass the requirements for getting a Swiss passport. (see www.softlanding.ch).

On Monday December 4 we flew from Zurich to Barcelona and picked up a rental car. On the way to Cambrils we stopped at a nearby SOTA, EA3/BC-080. The drive to the summit gave us some beautiful views of Barcelona. After making a few wrong turns, we did make it to the summit and got in a sundown activation.

Tuesday we headed west, past Zaragosa, into the eastern reaches of the EA1 association. We stopped at EA1/SO-033, which is located in the middle of a wind farm. Thus, there were access roads leading almost up to the summit; we elected to park at a utility building and walk the last half hour to the summit. Fortunately it was a dry day, otherwise the dirt road would have been very muddy and difficult to navigate with the car.