4m fm operation & antennas

Hi,All.
Would apreciate some advice,getting myself kitted out for the good wx we will be having soon?? Would like to try some activations using 4m fm and have ordered a woxun 4&2m handheld.Im going to try using a simple 4m wire dipole that Ive made on the basis it can be easily carried and taped verticle to a 5m fibreglass fishing pole.Do you think this will work ok or could I do better?Im an enthusiastic 4m fan and know it can be quiet out there but also rewards effort.Any suggestions?
Dave. G7CNM

In reply to G7CNM:

A lot of 4m activators use this J-pole http://www.summits.org.uk/tiki-index.php?page=4m+J-pole or something similar.

Regards,
Mike G4BLH

In reply to G4BLH:
Thanks Mike will have to make one and give it a go.
Regards,
Dave G7CNM.

In reply to G7CNM:

Yes, I have been using this j-pole for the past 18 months and find it very good … a bit better than a vertical dipole.

Good luck!

Walt (G3NYY)

In reply to G7CNM:
Hi Dave

It’s great to hear that another Radio Amateur is keen to use this excellent band for SOTA.

The design for the slim jim is spot on if you use 300ohm ladder feed. When I made mine using 450ohm ladder feed I added an extra 30cm to the top section to make it work! In addition the fact that it rolls up and fits into a rucksack makes it ideal for SOTA applications.

I am pleased to say that at the time of writing I have used this Antenna, a 7 metre fishing pole and the Wouxun (single band 4m radio) on 137 activations and have had a plentiful amount of QSOs.

Have fun

Matt G8XYJ

In reply to G8XYJ:
Thanks Matt,Walt,
Hope to work you on 4m soon looks like wx lmproving at last!
All the best
Dave G7CNM

In reply to G7CNM:

I use a J-pole made out of 450 ohm ribbon cable. It can be coiled up and strapped to your rucksack. I fasten it to a 6m fiber pole with reusable tie wraps. It is easy to erect under almost any circumstances.