2 is 1 and one is none? Spare(s) radios/accessories etc.

I have the philosophy as posted in the title. I am relatively new to the radio hobby and wonder if this is common? If you have a piece of equipment (kit) that you absolutely cherish, do you buy a second as a backup? I see having the backup as a parts kit or as a replacement if the model is discontinued ( I.e. FT857, KX1 etc) I also see how one may say that having 2 of the same exact model radio as a waste of financial resources. In the hobby, is there an in-between area where replacement parts are stocked in the event company XYZ goes under or the model is discontinued? I suspect the more popular radios/accessories/parts are readily available on the used market and that could be the contingency plan for replacement?

“73”

Erik

1 Like

By the time you need a replacement there will probably be better options.

4 Likes

I’ve done it for my GPS. It’s a 2008 model Garmin Vista HCX with no touchscreen. The new walking GPS have touchscreens which I don’t want. I realised a few years back that I did rely on the GPS and if it failed I’d have to get a new style GPS. So I did a bit of watching on eBay and found they came available quite often. I bought a used one as backup for £35, the original having cost near £200 9 or 10 years back.

I’m using the newer one now as it seemed daft having bought to not use it especially as the thumb joystick is starting to wear on the original and that is now the backup.

I have used several of my phones as a walking GPS but they’re rubbish in comparison to using a proper walking GPS. I use them when on SOTA vacations and don’t want to pack the GPS.

I agree with Richard. Before buying in spares ask whether you will do the servicing or employ a service person. They normally keep some spares. By the time they can’t access spares it’s time for a new up to date rig.