Which band or mode: visual perspective

Sorry I’ve been noodling about with something for work so here is a visual display of band and mode popularity. You can click on the things to see more detail.

http://moosedata.com/sotastats.htm

7 Likes

Interesting :+1:

Pie charts, so simply explain things

Making me in the 34.2% of of things :smiley:

Good one

Karl

I’m glad you like it Karl. It may sound trite but that wasn’t hard to do. I’m not really a web programmer, I write code that simulates semiconductors that haven’t been made yet. These semiconductors go into mobile phones, tablets, set-top boxes, car dashboards, engine management systems. Web programming is something I have little exposure too. I only run the database because I didn’t hide quick enough when the job was being offered! This came out of the need to express regresion test results from stuff I do at work in a better way. Thanks to Mr. Google, there’s a lovely library of code ready to use… all you have to do is point some numbers at Mr. Google’s code and you get those pretty pie charts or lots more.

It’s good at showing the main modes used and most popular bands. But that is a static page, i.e. it’ll always show the same data. It would be nice to make it dynamic so that whenever you request the page the data is fetched live and then drawn. A little more tricky to do but not impossible. Certainly not something that you can bash out in 5 minutes like this page.

Thanks Andy, I’ll echo Karl’s comments - it’s great to see a pie chart to understand a high level picture.

I was surprised to see so little activity on 10m, hence one reason for the challenge in 2015 I guess.

Thanks for doing this - whether you found it straight forward to do or not, you took the time to do it - so thanks!

73 Ed.

We like anything to do with pies in Macclesfield. Thanks.

2 Likes