What's in your pack?

Brand new to this, I have most of the kit to get started, FT817 (or 857 for higher power) even a Z100 tuner if I go HF route. Also have the SB270 SOTABEAM kit (inc. guys, fishing pole, cables etc.) weak link at present is I have just one SLA 7a 12v Yuasa which is fairly heavy having never used Lipo batteries.

My background is that of a rambler so ok with the necessary hiking & safety kit, but specifically need to know what else I need for radio kit and especially how do others house it all? - please near in mind it is a view to traveling light as opposed to weighing myself down.

What do others carry on a “typical” activation?

73 Steve

FT-857D, 8Ah deep cycle, Palm keyer, MP-1 antenna. Doesn’t weigh much and can be set-up at any place with minimum foot-print.

73 Norby

In reply to G0SLQ:

What do others carry on a “typical” activation?

In my case Steve, it would be much quicker to tell you what isn’t kept in my rucksack :frowning:

73 Mike
2E0YYY

In reply to G0SLQ:

http://www.sotawatch.org/reflector.php?topic=2046#

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to 2E0YYY:
For a typical VHF activation I have the usual
Safety, warm kit and nav stuff waterproofed in rubble bags in a rucksack.
A second rubble sack protects a Yaesu VX8 hand held, 2x batteries, guy lines, a four way pole support / bearing as produced by G4VQS and well worth the money, pegs, bungees, lightweight coax, spare rubber duck antenna incase it’s too wet / windy to set up a pole, write in the rain pad and pencil (sharpened at both ends!!), Gerber multi tool for any repairs. A lightweight nylon poncho to sit on or make an improvised shelter if needed. I also have taken to using clingfilm on any electrical items that may get damp, it’s an easy fix that solves potential issues on summits.