Was I a chaser back then?

Dear all:
I got my call sign in November 2019, and I have been doing SOTA only for three months. While browsing my log, I recently found that one of the contacts I had logged last year was with a station doing SOTA and I was wondering, perhaps some other of my contacts are with SOTA stations but I was not aware of that. Is there any way to search the logs of all activations for my call sign? I’d like to (a) give SOTA activators confirmation of those QSOs and (b) log some chaser QSOs.
Thanks a million!
Mikel EA5IYL

1 Like

That would be a great feature overall.
Could be a nice “Welcome package” for new chaser signing up. And also a way to motivate people to join in.

When you first time setup your sotadata account to get a summary of all logged QSO. With the question: Would you like to add them to your chaser log? Y/N

73 Joe

2 Likes

That’s a terrific idea, Joe!

Nope, because I know what’d be involved in getting that to work :slight_smile:

Andrew: That’s what I was expecting…
Sounds like a resource hungry database operation.
But no harm in asking :slight_smile:

I understand that a feature along these lines was originally in the thinking of the founders of the scheme as it was being set up. I think the idea was more of an automated email that went out to people saying “Do you realise you have 50 chaser points?” kind of thing.

I think WWFF have (had?) a “Logsearch” facility with similar principles. I agree something like this would be highly desirable - but knowing what magic our database gurus have achieved, if they say “no can do”, then it’s not going to happen!

At least not in the short term anyway. Technology and innovation progresses in an exponential manner, and I should imagine there will be an efficient and viable way of introducing this feature in the future.

1 Like