Trial Activation - G/WB-005 Long Mynd

Greetings all. I am very new to this so please forgive me for not posting advance information of yesterday’s activation, but I felt a trial was in order before I committed myself to something more serious. It was a last minute decision anyway, based on yesterday’s sunny weather, which was not forecast to last.

Armed with my FT817 and an HB9CV I drove to Pole Bank on the Long Mynd in Shropshire yesterday afternoon (G/WB-005). 2m SSB was very quiet and I worked only two stations so I quickly moved to 2m FM where I only worked three more stations before I decided the weather was just a little too cold to continue, despite me being quite well wrapped up.

I don’t know if I am to report this activation elsewhere on this site or simply keep it in my own logbook. I will certainly add the details to my personal website.

John

In reply to G1VVP:

Hi John, welcome to the fold!

You have more than the 4 contacts to “qualify” that summit, so you could enter them in the database - see the “Database” link at the top of the page. (You could enter them even if you’d fewer than 4, but you wouldn’t get the points!) It’s a couple of years since I registered, so I’ve forgotten, but I think you might need to register again there to post your data, as well as the registration you have done to post on the reflector here.

I certainly find it the easiest way to keep track of SOTA activations, even though I don’t do that many.

John GM8OTI

In reply to GM8OTI:

Thanks John.

All contacts now added!

I think I will probably be more of a chaser than an activator, but the fitness aspect of the walking and climbing appeals so I will doubtless activate a few more summits along the way.

Thanks again.

John, G1VVP (Nottinghamshire)

In reply to G1VVP:

Hi John,