Planning multiple peaks in W7M Glacier National Park July 19-24

I’m a first time activator hoping to manage multiple activations as part of a trip to Glacier National Park in Montana. We’re not sure yet what back country permit we’ll be getting or what day hikes we’ll be doing so preparing is a little fraught… I’m casting a reasonably wide net and researching many possibilities.

Equipment is a Yaesu FT-891 (heavy little beast, but what I own), LiFePo battery, 7m fishing rod mast and a 20/40 link dipole. The radio in particular adds significantly to the weight I’m carrying but it’s likely the backpacking will only be a couple of days so at least I won’t be hauling as much food.

I’ll be doing SSB on 20 and 40 since I’m still learning the code… next trip will hopefully let me do some slow CW.

Past experience in Glacier has shown I won’t have any cell phone coverage in the park so any suggested frequencies or recommendations for getting heard are very welcome.

I’ll provide a report on my return, hopefully with many newly activated peaks.

73 de Ben

2 Likes

Hi Ben, No one else has posted yet, so I will do my best based on my experience of SOTA in the Canadian Rockies, just north of the (US) Glacier National Park.
Initially, for a first-time activator, I think you are being very ambitious, and I would sure recommend getting half-a-dozen one-day activations under your belt locally (Kentucky?) before setting off for a multi-day, multi-summit trip.
The good news is that you have experience of Glacier National Park previously, so you know that this is serious hiking country. My suggestion would be to plan a single day trip with the only objective of the trip to get to the SOTA summit and activate it. This will simplify the whole exercise and make the probability of success much higher.