New to qrp

I’m new to sota activation, but yet to get any chasers. I have a new ft-817nd using a buddie stick. Can someone tell me what I’m doing wrong? I try from home in a desert valley with hills all around me.Could that be the problem I tried all bands and nothing is happening.Anything would help me.

You’re not doing anything wrong, per se. Getting out there and activating is the important bit. However, chasers are nice too :slight_smile:

The buddistick is a compromise vertical - the 5W your 817 puts out is mainly going into heating the loading coil, particularly on 40m, less so but still significantly on 20m. It’s also finicky to tune, so your SWR may not be perfect, also affecting radiated power. It’s one sole advantage? It’s small (so it fits in a suitcase, etc). It’s not really an ideal QRP antenna. I have one, and I use from 25-50W through it with an 857 and still prefer my dipole. I have worked good DX on it (EU and NA from VK), but I tend to swear at it more than praise it.

Make yourself up a one or two band dipole (say 20m and 40m), set it up at home, and practice working QRP with that. Then take it out on the mountains confident you can get signals on the set up you’ve got.

From anecdotal evidence on the reflector here, people use either wire dipoles or end-fed half-waves on HF, generally atop a fibreglass fishing pole, and that’s probably 95% of activations at a vague and non-scientific guess. The other 5% are full size verticals (or at least longer than the buddistick).

The other aspect to the buddistick is making sure the counterpoise is off the ground, not always possible on a summit. If it’s on the ground, efficiency seems to plummet.

In short, nothing wrong with the radio, but play around with the antenna :smile: and most importantly, keep at it, there’s nothing wrong with QRP, it just takes a bit more skill and the margins for error are a bit tighter

2 Likes

Hello Jan,