My first failed activation!

My first ever failed activation.
I’m relatively new to SOTA and amateur radio in general.
I have before always used my 817 and hyendfed antenna. Very easy and simple set up. Mostly SSB, occasional CW.
I wanted an antenna with a smaller ‘footprint’, so I purchased the Alpha Loop Mag Lipo antenna direct from America.
This was going to my first official summit to use the new antenna.
My summit was May Hill G/WB-019, a local and simple 1 point summit.
I was calling CQ for nearly an hour and not one call. I self spotted but had to do it 3-4 times (embarrassing!) as it was hard to find a clear QRG.
I had run out of time as I had to get back to work and felt very deflated.
The new antenna has fantastic reviews but it can be awkward to tune . I’m hoping that is the reason why no one answered my call.
It was a shame as a family approached me and were really interested in ‘mobile ham radio’ as they called it. To be fair the new mag loop looks impressive too! It would have been great for them to hear some calls but never mind.

I’m going to head out again either Friday or Saturday. Fingers crossed I get better luck next time!
73s!

Sorry, Tom, I missed you on 40m and when I found your third spot on 20m tried to hear you; nothing at all. I am very surprised you found no-one at all coming back. Not quite tuned combined with only 5W might mean nothing useful being emitted at all. Perhaps take the EFW as well next time. My personal preference is the linked dipole but it can be a bit anti-social to deploy for 60m, especially with long end-strings.
Good luck on the next one. I might be out in MW on Friday and/or SW on Sunday.
Rod
PS - I have had several failed activations - mostly when I was using 2m ssb but there have been some near misses on HF too.