Just Linked Dipole or multiple antennas?

As I am new in the SOTA adventure, What does everyone carry for antennas? This past weekend I used my EARCHI endfed antenna, but I am looking at building a linked dipole. The issue I see with a linked Dipole is that on popular summits (such as the one I did on saturday), there was not much room for me to be able to push up a mast and have ~60ft of wire strung up, or in an inverted V… So I’m just curious what everyone carries for different situations!

Hi Jared,
I’m sure you will get many differing answers as we all face these problems. The best antenna for a summit is the one that you have with you. That being said there are summits where there is very little space or are very busy with other visitors. (I’m presuming we are talking about HF not VHF, with these comments). For restricted summits (which I try to spot from satellite photos if its a summit I haven’t activated before) I have a tripod mounted loaded vertical antenna (Diamond RHM-8B) with an added counterpoise. In some cases an end-fed with tuner is also a possibility on a restricted summit if the ground is rocks - you can even get away with laying the antenna across the rocks (but not across soil).