DX Cluster

I’m a big fan of the DX Cluster a very useful tool when working DX on HF especially when the bands are total pants. My personal preference is DX Sherlock and I’ve been using it for about 18 months.

Just wondering how it all works and whether it would be possible to link the SOTA spots directly into the DX cluster. If this doesn’t happen already, maybe someone can tell me what would be involved. Dunno if there would be a cost factor or not, however, it would certainly prove interesting for the activators.

Any thoughts?

M6MMM

In reply to 2E0YYY:

Hi Mike,

From experience, the last thing I would want is every activation appearing on the DX cluster. It has caused some big headaches for genuine SOTA chasers (& activators) in the past.

Mark G0VOF

In reply to 2E0YYY:

whether it would be possible to link the SOTA spots directly into the DX cluster

You could use the RSS feed or write your own screen scraper (native or use Beautiful Soup). Martyn does something to put the SOTA spots out on a Twitter feed. Not particularly difficult at all.

I don’t think forcing SOTA spots onto the DX cluster is a good idea. I think I’m probably not the only one with that mindset.

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to MM0FMF:
Some sota spots end up on the cluster, well I know that some people have spotted me and it’s ended up on my favourite cluster network, www.dxsummit.fi

Adrian
Mm0tai

In reply to MM0TAI:

Hi Adrian,

When I have been the only station that can hear an activator & a spot or two on SOTAwatch doesn’t bring any any more chasers I will spot an activator on the cluster. This would only be after several minutes with no callers & only if the activator had still to qualify the summit. This I would see as a good use of the Cluster for SOTA purposes.