Other SOTA sites: SOTAwatch | SOTA Home | Database | Video | Photos | Shop | Mapping | FAQs | Facebook | Contact SOTA

Double activation of border summits

Hello SOTA folks,
I would like to know your opinion on activation of summits with two reference numbers lying right on the border between two countries. Is it in line with SOTA rules and spirit if somebody activates a summit, then crosses the border and activates the same summit again? Does the same summit count two times?

Jan OK1NF

In reply to OK1NF:

Jan, this question is answered in the SOTA General Rules, look at rule 3.7.1 section 13. Yes, the summit can count twice, you have to move your operating position as for SOTA purposes the position of the operator is the position of the station. Note that the same summit may get a different score in different Associations.

73

Brian G8ADD

Many thanks for the explanation. It is clear now.

73
Jan OK1NF