Clarification on W3/PH-006 -1070

SOTA Database

This summit is on private property to the best of my knowledge. However, I do know someone who lives up there about 1000’-1200’ away from the summit. I’m 99.99% sure I can get permission to operate from their property.

I had two questions regarding this:

• Would operating near the summit as such count as a SOTA activation?
  • The summit is on the border to W3/SV, and that property would technically lie in that zone. Would that be an issue to a proper activiation?

I’m brand new to SOTA, but I figure I have an opportunity to get a summit finally activated. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi,
As long as your friend’s properties at the summit remain sufficiently inside the AZ (Activation Zone) for you to setup your portable station inside this AZ, I don’t see any problem with what you seem to be willing to do.
Good luck!

Guru

1 Like

I suggest you go and read the SOTA general rules and also the specific rules for the region you are going to activate (W3).

Pay particular attention to the bits about prominence and activation zones which will allow you to calculate the locations where valid activations can take place.

1 Like

Plus, use the tracker tab in SotaGoat to see when you get into the AZ and which direction is the top. That helps whilst trying to avoid stopping at a false summit.

Elliott, K6EL

1 Like

Please see In The Zone - Part 2 (and Part 1) where I give a thorough explanation of the Activation Zone. Short explanation - if there’s no way you could, even theoretically, walk from the summit to where you are without dropping more than 25m (82 feet) you are outside of the AZ. Note that doesn’t just mean being no more than 82’ lower in elevation. An adjacent rise the other side of an 82-foot dip is not valid. There is no horizontal limit. There are AZs that are literally miles across!