Batteries

I am new to SOTA (2 weeks) and wish to activate some of the hills around my area (Stirling). I have a FT-817 and am looking for advice on suitable batteries to use to provide me with a reasonable time on air. The Ni-MH battery pack that came with the rig only gives me about 30 mins TX time and I would like to extend this.

What batteries would you all recommend (for internal or external fitting) and where is a good source? Would rather use rechargables but will accept ‘one-shot’ if that is what is recommended.

Glyn…GM4CFS

In reply to GM4CFS:

Lots of people will sing the praises of the LiOn packs…but they’re probably a bit expensive for experimenting/starting out.

With summer coming on it’s probably easiest to put rechargeables in the dry cell carrier that comes with the radio. There are plenty of efficiency issues with this…but it works.

I prefer to keep the body of my 817 wrapped up with just the face showing, or covered by a transparent plastic bag. Opening it up in rain, or trying to work that catch on the battery case with cold fingers can be a problem :slight_smile:

I use an 8 AA cell holder from maplins with a short lead (2 core mains flex)soldered directly to it to reduce the voltage drop and eliminate polarity problems. The plug is available from maplins too, I don’t know the part number but others on here do.

This setup means I can use 2300AH cells, or whatever is available cheaply. I can charge them in any charger at home or in the car. Most importantly it means that the 817, handy, gps, torch etc all share the same battery size and so can be interchangeable.

I think that there was some discussion about this on the yahoo reflector a year or so ago…It might be worth searching that.

Cheers, Dick

In reply to 2E0HJD:
I have seen those advertised on the Maplin website, might try one and see how it goes. I think they had a 7.5Ah cell which weighed about 2Kg.
Glyn

In reply to M0EIQ: