A cute winter-trail in spring

After the last, rather lazy, weekend, with its not quite enjoyable onset of winter, I monitored all weekdays long the weather forecast for the forthcoming weekend. While most of the week the forecast wasn’t nice, at least on Friday it became apparent that Saturday will be an acceptable day for doing a SOTA activation.

On Friday evening I studied the maps in order to find some not yet (by me) activated summit. Soon I stumbled upon the summit Hochgern (DL/CG-018) in the Chiemgauer mountains near the “Bavarian Sea” Chiemsee, i.e. the largest lake in Bavaria covering nearly 80km2.

I started my hiking tour in the small village Unterwössen at a completely empty car park. The first part of the hiking tour runs along a dry and snow-free forest-road up to the nice hut “Hochgernhaus”.

Along my hiking tour I met 2 sportly looking young men. Their answer to my question, how the conditions up to the summit would be, was rather disappointing: Both quit their attempt hiking up to the summit because it would be too icy and there would lie up to 1/2 meter snow. And I understood from their answer that they advised me not to go up further than to the hut.
After this smalltalk I had already the picture in my head that I’m going to have an extended coffee break on the sunny terrace of the hut and enjoying the view up to the summit while many chasers were already waiting to hear me calling CQ :confused:

Nevertheless I proceeded with my walk up to the hut. As announced by the 2 “sportys” abt. 100 hm after the hut the trail became snowy and a little bit icy but I soon arrived at the point were the two others returned.
This image shows the remaining way up to the summit: