40th Birthday First time SOTA activations

I know points shouldn’t be my main goal but points sound nice. I will be alone for this run and it will take me roughly 8 hours to drive to the area I have picked. I have been doing POTA for a few months, my main goal of this rove is SOTA but they also fall into POTA areas. this is the list, I want to run they are mostly Drive ups / short hikes as I will be alone. I will be leaving my house the morning of 17 May 2021 and returning sometime on 19 May. Just wanted to give everyone a heads up if my plans well in advance. Also to seek any helpful information of other summits on my route that might work for me. This picture the green line is a bad version of my route

2 Likes

Beau,
Welcome! Wow, with a list like that, you’re sure to get a lot of ACTION!

2 Likes

You are extremely abitionist! Do not disappoint yourself! It should still be fun.

To achieve my goal: “mountain goat within a year”, I also made such actions. (20 x 10 points summits in 5 days).

However, as far as I remember, it was never more than 4 summits a day.
There were the journey to the area itself,
walking with an average of about 90 min per summit there and back,
the drive from parking lot to parking lot,
the setup and operation.
In addition, one should leave a time reserve. Maybe you have to find the right way first.

If I had set myself higher goals, I might have been disappointed if I hadn’t achieved them. I might also have been rushed and made mistakes on the descent and hurt myself…

Today I also like to do several peaks in one day. Especially if the journey takes longer. 2 weeks ago I simply left out the originally planned 4th summit and instead just sat in the sun and continued making QSOs. It was beautiful!

In any case, I wish you lots of fun and a happy return home!

73 Armin

2 Likes