Who can post spots?

I’m still new to SOTA and only started activations recently. Checking sotawatch2 on my return home from today’s activation I can see my self-spots (sent via SMS from the summit) but was surprised to see a spot from someone I don’t know, i.e.

Tue 11:58 G8CPZ/P on G/SE-002 5.262 cw
PSE WARC15 QRGs!! (Posted by SP9AMH)

Q1. Can anyone add unsolicited spots for an activator?
Q2. I’m genuinely unsure as to its purpose. Is the spotter directing the spot for my attention or for others (I had self-spotted the same frequency/mode a few minutes earlier)?

Clarification appreciated.
Andy (G8CPZ / M0ALC)

Anyone registered on SOTAWATCH can post a spot. I imagine that the spotter was intending the info to get you to QSY to a frequency that they could work you on. 5MHz allocations vary from country to country. Some activators like to monitor SOTAWATCH while activating and would have seen the spot.

Best is to ask Mariusz (SP9AMH) directly. He is a very experienced chaser, see

Martin

Anyone (registered) can post a spot. Often times it is helpful to ask some of your first contacts whether they see your spot (if you self spotted) and then if they don’t ask them to spot you.

I will spot people I know (unsolicited), especially if I know that they do not routinely spot. Part of the reason for this is that “we” are trying to build the SOTA community in out area and by posting a SPOT, others that our new comers will see it and know that there is activity for SOTA in our area…

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback, everyone. A couple of comments: -

As a novice activator I find I’m so busy handling the CW QSOs (especially on 40m), writing the log, stopping stuff being blown away in the wind, keeping my fingers warm, etc. so wouldn’t have be able to monitor the SOTA website and respond in real-time to a QSY request.