Vertical Moxon test tomorrow (17m)

Setting up around 1340 UTC tomorrow on GW/NW-051, beaming West towards North America. Accurate signal reports will be much appreciated.

If its more directional than the 1/4L vertical ( it should be ), I will setup on a bigger mountain on the weekend, if the weather is suitable.

Many thanks !

Jonathan

2 Likes

The Moxon is a great antenna whether used in horizontal or vertical polarisation.
If you have time, please swing it around to your South East, so we down here get a chance of a contact!

73 Ed DD5LP

I will give it ago Ed and swing it around to Germany.

It seems promising at the moment. Both the driven and reflector were tuned right from calculation, without needing adjustment in the back garden. I can rotate it without it interfering with the guying lines too. Fits nicely on a 10m pole. It doesn’t overload the pole, but equally it won’t take any reasonable wind gust.

It has been done before for SOTA, but I have never tried it before. Vertical 1/4L is pretty good and very portable, the problem is I get so much EU I don’t always hear the DX coming in at the same time.

Jonathan

Try late afternoon early evening then. I’ve had many activations where I can’t hear the EU for the DX when using a L/4 GP at that time of day!

Hi Jonathan,

if propagation gives you an aid, for sure you will get good results with your Moxon.

I also used mine portable and Vertical polarized a couple years ago with very good results in 21 MHz…

Good luck tomorrow!
73 de Ignacio

I have read your article Ignacio, gave me some ideas to make the top support - thanks. Its slightly smaller then yours having made it for 17m rather than 20m, which allowed me to get away with the pole support being free from catching inside the rectangle.

KD6WD'S Moxon Antenna Project

The first interesting observation was directing it towards the house and watching the HF noise go up !

The vertical is certainly good enough, this is just to try something different.