Tablet computers

A few weeks back I ran a simple poll to see which tablets were the most popular. After 102 responses the results were what I expected, Android led Apple iOS by 2:1 with a few people using Windows 8 or Windows 10 tablets.

In my case, I have a Nexus 7 Gen1 which I’ve been using for 2 years. It’s used when I don’t have a full laptop with me to surf the Web, access the various servers running SOTA facilities (ssh, VNC) and to serve up books and magazines such QST, which I re-render as DRM free PDF files. It’s used to display both OS maps and free OpenStreetMap maps integrating with the inbuilt GPS.

A couple of things got me looking at new devices. For a start my Nexus had become sluggish at times, taking 45 secs to start up a browser. Comparing it with a few Nexus Gen 2 device my work colleagues have, I realised how very slow it had become. Secondly, Google decided to stop producing software updates for the Gen 1 model. I have a tablet in immaculate condition which still has excellent battery life but no security updates. You may be able to live without security updates, but to me, no updates means not viable. I have the same problem with my phone, so I don’t use it for anything like banking etc.

I looked at new Android devices, rejected for the same short support lifetime. I looked at Apple devices. Far too expensive and Apple have evaded far too much tax in my country. I’m not supporting them till they behave properly. I looked at replacing my tablet and laptop with a high end Windows 2-in-1 convertible. These come with removable keyboards so you can have a tablet or a laptop. They’re available with a range of CPU/RAM & disk options. I’d be able to pension of my laptop and tablet and an HP Spectre X2 was high on the list even though it was £800.