SOTA surpasses IOTA?

In reply to KD9KC:
Dear Mike!

As per the number of available entities, SOTA has surpassed IOTA long ago.

Please consider on the one hand, that only some 1140 (+/-) IOTA entities are available worldwide. (Sorry, but I am not an IOTA expert, even if I worked 700+ entities and have confirmed 400+ entities. The reason is: IOTA rules change too frequently and it is focusing excessively much on money.) Consider that exclusively France has 2649 summits which qualify as a SOTA entity on the other. (Only F/AB and F/AM regions surpass IOTA with their 563+739=1302 summits! Hi! But many of them can be approached only by means of alpine climbing techniques. These are analogous challenges like Rickal island, EU-189)

Similarly Islands of Croatia Award (IOCA) will also have surpass SOTA with its 1180 or 1280 (I don’t know for sure) entities sooner or later! :slight_smile: As of today, the CI-xxx IDs do not reflect this yet due to the high number of never yet activated inslets; for the time being CI-807 is the highest number ID, and the highest available award degree for chasers is IOCA-400.

73: Joska, HA5CW

In reply to KD9KC:

SOTA has certainly not surpassed IOTA in terms of its worldwide profile.

Richard
G3CWI

In reply to G3CWI:
I hope we don’t end up with the IOTA style pile-ups - with chasers not listening to what is going on and just calling over the top of QSOs… :o(
Gave up IOTA a long time ago due to the poor quality of operating - IOSA is still worth a bash though :o)

73 Graham G4FUJ

In reply to G4FUJ:

In reply to G3CWI:
I hope we don’t end up with the IOTA style pile-ups - with chasers not
listening to what is going on and just calling over the top of QSOs…
:o(