SOTA NEWS AUG 2015 Part 1

SOTA NEWS - AUGUST 2015 - Part 1 of 2
Welcome to the August 2015 edition of SOTA News. My thanks go to the following contributors:- Barry GM4TOE, Elliott K6EL, Allen VK3HRA, Mark G0VOF, Kevin G0NUP, Rob and Audrey G4RQJ, Brian G8ADD, Viki M6BWA.

The July edition of SOTA News was viewed more than 800 times.

EDITORIAL – by Roy G4SSH

I apologise if this edition of SOTA News is late or truncated in any way. It has travelled along a convoluted route to get to you this month.

On the 10th July my computer began to demand passwords for access to e-mail. It then refused to acknowledge any passwords offered by myself. I could not send or receive mail and every time I tried to do so the screen filled with weird symbols and advice such as “outlook cannot sync subscribed folder”. My access to the Internet, Reflector and SOTA Watch was not affected.

I am a computer operator only, and call on the services of my son (who lives in the next village) to sort out any technical problems. Unfortunately he was watching the Tour de France in Paris until the 29th of the month.

I tried to explain the problem to the ISP, Talk-Talk (Tiscali ) advisors in Mumbai and for three weeks (and about £30 on my mobile phone bill) I was in almost daily touch with them. They tried their best but their strong accent and my minimum knowledge of computer jargon was unequal to the task. It was a succession of trying various passwords, none of which were successful.

Interestingly, within 24 hours of reporting the problem I received a call (on my land-line phone) from a person with a strong Indian accent who said he understood that I was having a problem with my computer and would I kindly press the “CTRL” Key and type in characters supplied by him. I asked him who he was but he would not tell me so I asked him to contact me via my Mobile phone (on which Talk-Talk normally contacted me) at which point he hung up.