Road Bike Activations

Hi SOTA folks

I graduated from a hybrid bike (rubbish at most things) to a thoroughbred road racer this weekend. I hope to do a few activations using it. Has anyone else used a road bike to get to activations? If so, what did you take with you, how did you carry it, how did you ensure that the bike was still there after the activation?

Comments from practitioners rather than theorists very welcome!

Cheers

Richard
G3CWI

In reply to G3CWI:

Hi Richard,
Kit in rucksack as normal.
Pole in cloth fishing pole bag.(stops it rubbing paint off bike frame)
Pole in bag tied to bike’s crossbar with shoe laces.
Take bike to summit or padlock to fence post etc at parking spot.
If bike has quick release wheels make sure padlock chain goes through front wheel as well as frame.
Take spare inner tube ,tyre levers and pump just in case you get a puncture.
Water bottle can be fixed to frame.
Happy cycling.

David G3RDQ.

In reply to G3CWI:

I have used a bike a couple of times to save the long walk up Ennerdale valley when activating Red Pike,High Stile or Haystacks.

There is plenty of dense tree cover in the valley so no problems hiding the bike and maybe some of that camouflage netting that birdwatchers use on their hides could be useful where the tree cover is not that good.

Derek

In reply to G3CWI:

Hi Richard,

I’m more a cyclist than a SOTA activator, but did do three summits in one day using one of my road bikes - 108 miles and 6000ft of ascent in under 12 hours.

http://haigh.org/cycling/

For these activations I could get the bike right up to the trig point (perhaps with a little pushing due to poor surfaces). A proper road bike does mean you can cover the distances better, but depending upon your bike it can be harder to carry equipment.