Random length multi band dipole (with ATU)

hi all,

Im thinking of building a random (not cut for one band I mean) length dipole. I don’t want a linked one or a single band.

At the moment Im mainly using a random wire with 9:1unun.
35.5ft as from lamda calculators it seems like a length that is not multiple of 1/2l of most (if not all) bands.

Does the same principle work with a dipole with 1:1? my head says its ok but Im no expert :slight_smile:
If yes Ill make one with two 35.5ft legs.

I know that two 22ft legs work well for 40-10M and two 44ft legs work well for 80-20M. It’s important to use low-loss balanced feedline. I use 300-ohm windowed line and a 4:1 balun at the rig/tuner.

Barry N1EU

3 Likes

Hi,
One good Rule of Thumb is to make the doublet at least 70% of a half wave at the lowest frequency you want good performance on. Shorter will work but with reduced effectiveness. A 60 m halfwave fed with balanced feeder is a good choice for 3.5 to 18 MHz. At higher frequencies the pattern has more lobes than most like.

You will need a tuner for best efficiency rather than an rf transformer at the top - the impedance will vary a lot from one band to another.

I often use a 22 ft per side doublet with 300 ohm line for 7 MHz to 52 MHz. The ATU has a 4:1 balun inbuilt. A balanced tuner like a Z-match would be better IMO. At a pinch you could use Fig 8 flex for the feeder - acceptable losses on HF IMO. Tuner may not like some feeder lengths.

Good luck. Let us know what you do and how it went.

Ron

70% of a half wave at 3.5MHz is 28m so not sure why you said 60m?

1/2 wave dipole for the 60 metre band?

got it, sorry - we’re on the same page :slight_smile:

Sorry, I confused the issue by posting 60 m (band) and 3.5 MHz. Memo to self. Don’t mix units, use freq for band to avoid confusion over length.

Ron

Have you ever read these papers:

http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/9536618/2035391307/name/44ft_doublet.pdf