PMR446 West Highland Way

A friend (non-amateur) will be hiking the West Highland Way in Scotland next month and is thinking of carrying a PMR446 radio. Are these frequencies typically monitored by anyone in that region in case of emergency or is this just a waste of pack space/weight?

I have no experience of PMR446 radios but I expect that they are similar to a cheap 70cm handheld. Given that, a lot of the West Highland Way is on old drove roads in valleys surrounded by high steep mountains and the range will not be very good. I don’t know the current situation but over much of the Way even mobile phone coverage was patchy a few years ago.

1 Like

Hi Chris,

As Brian alludes to - the West Highland Way is fairly devoid of population, except in the wee villages. Most folk use mobiles (cell phones) as the route follows, for a high proportion, main arterial roads and as such these roads have pretty good cell (2 & 3G) coverage. However on the northern section, the route diverges off along an old military road that heads into fairly big mountains. In this section you will struggle with any form of communications.

Interestingly. I first walked the West Highland Way when it was first opened in 1981? and boy was some sections of it ‘rough’. Now however the paths have been improved over the years and a great walk from South to North with fantastic changes in scenery. I did it in October with the vegetation turning russet and the first of the winter snows on the mountains. Great memories.

Jack(;>J

PS: Meant to mention. As your friend is planning to walk next month (April) advise them to be prepared for possible heavy snow (certainly on the higher sections) or they might be lucky and have glorious sunny warm Spring weather - which I hope is the case and if so the views will be stunning!!!

1 Like