OT - Help identifying aircraft

Hi all,

apologies to those who feel this is off topic but I know there are some military aircraft buffs out there.

When I was in Hardraw in Wensleydale last Saturday, preparing to set out for NP-006, I was somewhat startled by the low altitude overflight of a large slow-moving twin-engine propeller driven aircraft. It was in what I take to be military colours (green/camouflage) but did not have any obvious under wing markings. It was flying west at around 2000 ft, judging by the cloud base, between fells of roughly 2500 ft in height. I guess from its behaviour that it was on some form of training flight. As I watched it turned south before heading off in an easterly direction.

I’m no expert on these matters but I did notice it had rounded wing tips and conventional (rounded) tail and that it engines appeared to be rather close in to its fuselage, so I’m guessing it was a Bristol Blenheim. Can someone please tell me if this is likely? If so, would it be in service or is it part of a heritage flight? Where might it be based?

Rick.

In reply to M0RCP:
From wikipedia

‘Today only a single Blenheim IVT, actually a RCAF Bolingbroke, remains airworthy. It is owned and operated by the Aircraft Restoration Company at Duxford, UK, and has been flying since May 1993. [History by David MacGillivray]’

HTH

Roger G4OWG

In reply to M0RCP:

Could it have been a Dakota? I have seen one of them recently and I know that there are a number still flying.

Brian G8ADD

In reply to G8ADD:
I think you may be right Brian.

Battle of Britain flight - Dakota (DAK) 17th July
http://www.raf.mod.uk/bbmf/displayinfo/

01:35 WIGTOWN 1 DAK FLYPAST 11:00
00:10 OTTERBURN 1 DAK FLYPAST 14:00
00:30 NORMANBY MIDDLESBORO 1 DAK FLYPAST 14:35
00:30 MELTHAM 1 DAK FLYPAST 15:10
00:30 KEELBY 1 DAK FLYPAST 15:45
00:05 CLEETHORPES 1 DAK FLYPAST 15:50
00:45 OLD WARDEN 1 DAK FLYPAST 16:40
00:05 BEDFORD RIVER FESTIVAL 1 DAK FLYPAST 16:50

Roger G4OWG