Operating Practices

Hi Everyone.
I am new to SOTA with one activation (VK3/VS-048 for 1 point - I see it as the first step).
I worked 2m FM simplex and 10m ssb for my first activation, and worked local stations in the area that I knew. I was hoping 10M might open up on the day, but unfortunately not.

Anyway, I called CQ SOTA and gave the summit number to all contacts, but I was wondering if there is a “standard” and/or recognisable way to call CQ for both SSB and CW for SOTA activations, and also give the summit number.

Also, I was wondering, as there are no band or mode multipliers for SOTA, how do activators decide on frequency and mode for the activation? Do you try to do multiple bands and modes, or just one band/mode?

Also, as there are no multipliers for the number of contacts, do activators just get the required number of contacts for official activation, or spend time on the summit to give as many chasers a point as possible?

And lastly, if you are some distance from the peak, say because the peak is on private property and you cant get any closer, but are still within 25M of the summit HASL, does that still count as an official activation?

Sorry for all the newbie questions,
Thanks for your interest.
Mark

1 Like

In reply to VK3UA:

Hi Mark,

Welcome to SOTA, take care this can become addictive!

To answer some of your questiones: Calling "CQ CQ Summits-on-the-air from on SOTA " is certainly a good format when activating SOTA. Most operators will give their Summit Reference with the first few QSOs, but once they have a little pile-up running will fall back to handing out the reference every 5th to 10th QSO, but there are no strict rules here. If your chaser has picked the reference by listening to you for some time or via SOTA Watch then there is no need to give it out repeatetly.