OE/F8CZI/P on OE/VB-454

Hello @ all,

I went yesterday for a new SOTA activity on OE/VB-454. The used equipment was a FT817 with a dipole at 6m height. After a small check with a QSO in SSB with F1HVH to see if it works properly, I decide to try in CW for the first time in spite that I am a just beginner in this mode.

I was able to see that it is more difficult than to chase SOTA from my shack where it is possible to listen several times and be certain to have taken well the call before answering. The most terrible for me was the pile up, may be after the spot in Sotawatch, when a multitude of station answers at the same time producing a very big noise compared to a samba orchestra from the Rio carnival. I do not know if it was the good method, but I have show patience and after the QRG was quiet again and I was finally able to decode a new call sign and make some QSO. I would thus like to apologize on the mediocre quality of my cw traffic which I hope can now improve by practising more often CW on my activity SOTA. I am also want to thank the OM which answered well in QRS continuation my requests and F8FEO who has me spotted on the Sotawatch and who there managed to make me the STRESS HI

Hope to contact you again from another summit … in cw :wink:

Best 73’s de OE/F8CZI/P

In reply to F8CZI:

Congratulations on your first SOTA CW activation Laurent. Welcome.

There was no problem reading your CW which was very clear and well formed.

As a newcomer, you handled the pile up exactly right. The best way is not to fight against dozens of callers but to sit back and wait - the chasers will not go away - and eventually you will copy a full call.

Repeat as necessary

Hope you hear you on the air again soon

Roy
G4SSH

In reply to G4SSH:

Hello Roy,

Thank you for your answer.

I am very satisfied to have applied the good method, I can thus continue so. I hope I can progress quickly to increase the part CW vs SSB of my traffic.

Hope ti hear you from a next SOTA.