Newbie here NC6B introduction

Hi My name is Kent and I am new to the idea of SOTA.

I have been licensed since 1998 but was a tech till 2014. I then upgraded to general and then extra in about a months time. I am recently retired so I have a lot of time on my hands. I want to keep in shape but sitting in front of my rig in the shack is not the way to do it. So here is SOTA. I have been a chaser for about a month or so and really like it, but I want to get out for a walk.

I guess my first question is which radio? I see a lot of people with the Elecraft KX3 or KX2. And then power and then antenna??? and…???

Thanks
Kent
NC6B

Hey welcome Kent to SOTA! You might also post your message to the NA SOTA Yahoo reflector at Yahoo | Mail, Weather, Search, Politics, News, Finance, Sports & Videos

I also sent to Paul/W6PNG your intro. Paul is the Assoc Manager for W6 and also a Rubicon Hardrock owner! There’s a few Jeep folks in So Cal who are quite active as Activators!

Look forward to hearing you from a SOTA summit!

Guy/n7un

Guy

Thanks I will join the Yahoo group.

Kent

Hi Kent, welcome aboard!

I’m sure you will get suggestions for equipment and antennas (FT817 is my main choice, often used with an Elecraft AATU and an inverted V doublet, LiFePo4 battery), but you will find a lot of comments and suggestions in posts on this reflector which might also be useful - it is worth a search.

I’m sure you will enjoy SOTA,

Adrian
G4AZS

Welcome to SOTA Kent, once the SOTA bug bites the only known cure is to activate more summits, very addictive :smile:

Enjoy your time on the summits and good luck working DX SOTA peaks.

I have two SOTA rigs a Yaesu FT-857D and a FT-817ND. My choice of rig comes down to how many km/miles will I walk to the summit and how difficult is the terrain?

73 Andrew VK1AD
SOTA blog https://vk1nam.wordpress.com/

1 Like

Thanks all