New SOTA application

KD9KC’s topic “SOTA surpasses IOTA” became somewhat by diverted examining the authenticity of claimed chaser/activator records resulting from the lack of confirming asterisks which service has been (temporarly) been suspended. (BTW. Frenchmen have a saying: there’s no more permanent state as temporary is! Am I right, Alain - F6ENO? :-))) ) As far as I can concern, this is an issue worth of discussing, therefore I started the present new topic.

I am replying not for X or Y but in general to the debating community. I am not going to blame anybody, who have made their best for our community up to now. However I had been earning my money for over 2 decades from IT system analysis, system design and programming, thus I assume that some of my ideas are worth of considering.

The present solutions really worked (more or less) fine during the passed years… in small DBs with a low number of users. However, by today, both SOTA community and SOTA QSO DB grew to the extent what can not be managed by means of amateur way of thinking and amateur solutions. And what is more, time passing the larger the DB grows, the worse the circumstances will become, because the time and processor power consumption (demand) of processing does not increase linearly with the size of the DB but exponentially! This is predictable, unless we change to professional way of thinking!

What do I mean? There are easy and effective ways as well of obtaining a result. However easy solutions, preferring the ease of coding and testing to long term considerations demand far more cost in general. Nevertheless the seemingly complicated and seemingly more time consuming solutions, may pay off considering long term aspects.