N7NGO W7 Activation Report

It has taken me a long time to get this report written. I went on vacation and activated some summits but have been busy since returning home.

Background

My wife and I presently live in Indiana. However, we used to live in Washington, and my wife was born and raised in Oregon. So from time to time we take a vacation and go visit friends and family in Washington and Oregon. We also like to get in some hiking, if possible. This time I also wanted to activate some summits.

I have been calling CQ from summits, always on VHF and UHF, since 1989 when I received my technician license, which allows for operation on the VHF bands and higher. Most of the summits I have operated from in the past are now SOTA summits. Last year was the first time I tried using HF from a summit, when we took a vacation to the Adirondacks.

Equipment Used

Radios: FT-817ND, IC-W31A
Batteries for the 817: 2500 mAH aftermarket NiMH internal pack, sixteen 2100 mAH NiMH AA cells (used 8 at a time internally in AA battery tray).
Antenna Support: 28 foot Jackite pole (only 26 feet tall, not using top section).
Antennas: 40m – 6m link dipole, 3 element SOTA style 2m beam, 2m/70cm dual band whip, (half-wave on 2m, 5/8 over 5/8 collinear on 70 cm).

17-July-2011, Naches Peak, W7/RS-022:

I originally wanted to go to Tolmie Peak, W7/RS-035, for the CQ World Wide VHF Contest, and in fact I put an alert on SOTAwatch for Tolmie, which I later changed to Naches. However, the road to Mowich Lake was not open due to snow. I could have walked from the closed gate, but this would have added an extra 5.5 miles each way, so I chose to go to Naches Peak instead.