My FT8 SOTA setup

A few days ago I activated W6/SC-197 Buckhorn Ridge. I had not planned to do FT8 while there but I had a sometime and it was almost a drive up so I took my laptop. After I received a few emails from interested people on my setup for this, so here is how I did it.

My portable SOTA WSJT-X setup:

Radio: KX3

Antenna: clipped dipole @ about 24ft

PC: Surface Pro

KX3 to PC: KXUSBa cable and a USB hub

Sound interface: Sabrent Aluminum USB External Stereo Sound Card with 2 cables with 3.5mm stereo plugs

Operating Sys: Win10

Software: WSJT-X 2.0 Build 784f75

GPS (for time check): VK172 G-Mouse USB GPS/GLONASS USB GPS dongle

GPS time Software: BktTimeSync 1.9.1(free!)

First let me say I am no expert at using WSJT-X so I accept no responsibility for something that may go wrong. Try this at your own risk!

For the purpose of this I will assume you have all software installed and your computer and it is booted up and running with the USB hub plugged into the PC USB port. The USB sound card and the USB GPS dongle plugged in to the hub. You will need 2 cables with 3.5mm stereo jacks on them. Plug one cable into the Mic plug on the USB sound card and then plug this cable in the phone port on the KX3. The other cable plug into the speaker jack on the sound card and then into the Mic port on the KX3.

You should also check to see if the PC and KX3 can communicate via the KXUSBa cable using the Elecraft KX3 Utility on the computer. Make note of the com port settings and speed of the connection. Mine is Com3, 38400, 8, 1 and None, you will need this for WSJT-X. Also go thru the procedure of saving your current KX3 configuration and make sure you have the latest firmware for the KX3.

The GPS and time software are easy to setup and there is some documentation so I will not go into it here. For me the GPS does take a few minutes to start and acquire the correct time. If you need help let me know.