Methodist Hill North W3/PD-006 and Snowy Mountain W3/PD-007

Heading up to Pennsylvania this weekend to do some hiking. Hoping to activate a couple of summits using my new (to me) KX3.

I’ve never done digital in the field, before, but I’m hoping to do PSK-31 using on-board features of the KX3. We’ll see how well that goes.

I’ve written up my plans on my blog and will hopefully have a better handle on my schedule Friday evening.

https://www.wg3k.us/2017/12/18/upcoming-sota-activations/

There are gates, no trespassing signs, and barking dogs on “Tower Rd” on Long Mountain. Added to summit info.

Does this fully exclude the activation zone or just the very top where the towers are?

Looking at satellite imagery, I can’t see a gate along the roadway. Per section 3.7.1, paragraph 4, of the SOTA General Rules (April 2015), I used USGS topographic maps to find 25 meters down from the summit (~1480 feet) and drew a line around this contour. This should mark the activation zone for this summit (see image). Does the gate block access to within the zone?

pd-013…I was there yesterday scouting it… there a no-trespassing signs, dogs and angry folks there… No joy on your proposed route…

I can recommend both PD-007 (short hike on the AT also!) and PD-002…

Richard // N2GBR

… Also note that PA is known as “Rocksylvannia”… to the AT hikers… so that 4Miles to Methodist hill may take some time…
:wink:

Richard // N2GBR

Sooo… I’ll be in that part of Pennsylvania. Good to know.

Thanks for doing some ground work for me. I guess I’ll have to update my plans accordingly.

Snowy Mtn W3/PD-007 is one of my favorites. Part of the drive is on dirt roads, but last time I was there they were in good condition. Park at a gate (39.8275, -77.5026) & take a nice easy ~3/4 mile hike up a dirt road. The summit has a nice spot to set up - a small clearing with good trees. There is a cell tower up top, but it still fairly pretty. (No views, just pretty surroundings).