m0ydh

Hello SOTA people

M0YDH is my new callsign. M0 callsigns are tricky to find from the remainder. I’d hoped for M1DEI or M0DEI which would be CW friendly but alas not on offer. Thanks to everyone in SOTA for help, encouragement and making this award scheme such a rewarding part of the hobby. I studied with Telford & District ARS and cannot praise the club’s examiner and tutor Mike G3JKX enough.

Last Thursday on Cadair Idris was the last outing for 2W0DAI/P . I gave it a good send off by cycling from home in Wolverhampton with the family over four days to get to the base of the mountain and stay at Hafod Dywyll farm campsite [just above Kings YHA and very cheap]. I can recommend the crossing of the Berwyns on the Hirnant pass for sheer cycling grit needed to get over and gorgeous scenery. We were glad to reach the summit of the pass and the family were delighted when they made sure I didn’t start riding from there towards GW/NW-032 Cyrniau Nod! The descent into my home valley was a delight. I grew up in Rhos-y-Gwaliau in the Hirnant valley so finally getting round to cycling over the pass and down towards “home” was a great feeling. I couldn’t pass the turning for Plas Rhiwaeadog - the former Bala youth hostel where we lived and my parents worked - without a look. http://www.eryri-npa.gov.uk/hafan/heritage/cultural_heritage_planning/rhiwaedog/rhiwaedog_gallery_3.htm shows that it is in peril of becoming a ruin. It’s a sad sight. Perhaps some of you stayed there over twenty years ago?