Lifepo4

Morning

Was out portable yesterday in SX-44
But using the 8800 mah Lifeppo 4 battery PPSU

Worked 38 stations and on air for about 3hrs using 10w tx
Put on battery LED checker, shows voltage has dropped from 13.7V to 13.2V

damn happy with that

Result :slight_smile: such a little thing, so much power like it and little and light :heart_eyes:

Karl

2 Likes

Hello Karl,
can you please give us more info about the battery?
i would like to get one.
73 Carlos ik2yra

Morning Karl

I share your delight! I have only used my recently acquired 4200 mAH LiFeP0 battery a couple of times so far, but as you say they are impressive.
My point of reference for batteries is when I started playing with them in the 1950s. Comparing this beauty with the old wet lead acid cells, or zinc carbon batteries (the only choices available) puts a smile on my face! :smile:

Adrian
G4AZS

G day everyone . I run my ft 857 at 100 watts with my 8400 / 30c LiFe and one of the out side cells now has a bulge and is not charging up as much as the others. Pushed my luck a bit but was told it could be done. It still holds plenty of capacity to run my kx3 or rigs around 30 watts so I won’t be trying that trick again. I have now done 3 full seasons of activating with my 4200 /30c Zippy LiFe , it is a great battery and has done a great job with no signs of dyeing yet. Have fun Karl hope you get to activate a few more with your set up.
regards
Ian vk5cz …

Which reminds me that back in the 50’s it was easy to get ex WD NiFe batteries, which were used in military vehicles. They were larger than lead acid for the same power but could handle greater extremes of temperature and were rumoured to last forever!

Brian

HI Adrian / All