Licensed for 1 week and knocked over 2 activations!

Hi All,

I undertook my 2-day face to face lessons and testing in mid-Jan, and got the much-awaited email from our national regulator ACMA that told me I am now a licensed Amateur being designated VK1FWBD.

Last Tuesday I was fortunate enough to be shown the SOTA ropes by the legendary VK1AD, Andrew who was kind enough to let me dive straight in after he made enough contacts as well as once the DX stations started rolling in. So within my first activations (and first HF session), I was immensely lucky to have 3 DX stations 2 NZ Stations (ZL) and 1 Japanese station (JA). I knew I was hooked! All while overlooking our gorgeous capital from VK1/AC-040 Mt Ainslie

Andrew’s Yaesu (I can’t remember which one) was pumping out a reduced 10w - to comply with my license requirements, on his linked dipole were a great match (gotta love an antenna pun).

The following day (Wednesday) my new (preloved) FT817ND turned up and I was keen to get on the air - I booked a day off yesterday (Friday) and thought I would be a keen bean and try a Friday daytime SOTA activation.
This time on another 1 pointer, with basically a walk of only a few hundred metres.

After hours of calling, I was not successful in reaching my needed 4 contacts. I was switching between my newly assembled PAC12 antenna on my DJI OSMO MOBILE base as a tripod and a long wire with a matching box from Nelson Antennas (on EBAY) up my 10m Squid pole and no joy. Only sunburn! (Note to self… maybe you might want to make sure the spotters aren’t all at work…)