Ideas of cw course format

My local radio club is wanting to do a CW course. We have around 8 people willing/wanting to learn and at least 2 cw operators willing to help.
The part I need to figure out is how to put a format together, as it wont happen unless I organise it. I am one willing to learn(after i stopped learning again due to life a few months ago)

We want to utilise 2m VHF as well as self study and some team study on the club nights.

Any ideas or experience with this please let me know.

My initial thoughts were:

1. Create a morse CD or use the K7QO morse training CD, which is what FISTS offers.
  2. do some on air Morse copying at very slow speeds to assist with learning the alphabet.
  3. do some team copying on the nights?

Thatā€™s about all i have.

Any ideas or experience with this please let me know. it will be gratefully appreciated.

The applicants wanting to learn, are everything from complete beginner to a G4 callsign wanting to brush up.

Thanks

1 Like

Canā€™t help too much with this, our club also started a cw course but as I donā€™t get time to travel 30 miles every week I donā€™t go often.

This is the tutor I use nilex morse tutor download from here http://noseynick.org/va3nnw/cw/download.html
I find it very good but that is just my preference.

Edit: I also record the cw to mp3 for use while out walking using Audacity.

Best of luck

73 Neil

If your group is really varied in skill level then a mixed-mode net might offer something for most folk. Use SSB and CW with a sensible offset so folks listening on SSB hear the CW sensibly (provided they donā€™t have an automatic notch filter active :wink: ). Folks listening on CW will, of course, need to switch to SSB if one of the net participants decides to use voice rather than Morse.

For on-air learning, I found the mixed-mode GB2CW Thursday morning broadcast more helpful than anything else, especially early on. I think itā€™s a pity so few of the GB2CW broadcasts are mixed-mode.