How do you gain points?

Hi everyone.
I’m a newbie to this but I like the idea of combining interests.
I can’t seem to find out exactly how the points system works.
I know you get points for activating a summit (4 qso’s) but do you get points for each contact made on the summit?
When chasing, what is the value of points you get for say, making a contact from someone on Snowdon?

I’m not really in it for the points (just looking for some fun days out) but just want to make sure I understand the system.

I am planning my first activation on Dec 13 (Tryfan and Glyder Fawr if the weather permits.

Cheers
Kevin G0PEK

In reply to G0PEK:

It’s all explained in the rules and guideline documents which you can find here: Summits on the Air

Details about the summits in each Association can be found here: Summits on the Air

Chasers get points for valid contacts with each activator.
Activators get points for each summit they activate.

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to MM0FMF:
Many thanks
Checked the rules, seems straightforward enough.
Looking forward to my first activations.

Kev
G0PEK

In reply to MM0FMF:

Chasers get points for valid contacts with each activator.

They can count a summit once per day … i.e. if they contact the same summit again tomorrow, it will count again for points.

Activators get points for each summit they activate.

But only once per individual summit each year. I have activated the same summit multiple times this year, but could only claim points once. It has always seemed to me that there is something of an imbalance here, although I do understand the rationale behind it … it’s to encourage activators to go to as many different summits as possible. But some activators have only a very limited number of summits within easy travelling distance (e.g. in East Anglia).
:slight_smile:

Anyway, points-earning, for me, is a minor consideration. I do the activations for the enjoyment, even if I get no points for repeat activations.

Walt )G3NYY)