G Completion

Pillar and High Stile
15th and 16th October 2011

This was, for us, the most brilliantly conceived pair of activations carried out to date. Paul and I have been activating summit together since August 2007 and we have travelled far and wide throughout England and Wales. In July 2008 we carried out our first “round” of activations that required an overnight stop in a Travelodge in south-west Wales. Little did we know at the time that this would become the format for many of our joint activations and we have stayed in quite a few Travelodges since. More recently we have stayed at the Cockermouth Travelodge on a number of occasions and have spent some enjoyable evenings in The Bitter End gastro pub as a result.

So, coming towards completion of the SOTA summits in England, we were left with four LD summits, reasonably centrally located: Great Gable, Kirk Fell, Pillar and High Stile. We drew up several options for activating these, some of which were based around overnight stays at Cockermouth. There seemed to be no optimum solution to these summits – should we use Wasdale Head as the access point and activate the first three from there? We concluded that that would be a hard day indeed. So how should we split them up? While we were still pondering this issue, the pressure of work intervened and Paul found the opportunity for taking a single day off work, let alone two, became increasingly difficult.