CW Operators - why do some of you send much faster than the Activator?

Just listening to Marjan S51RU/P who is doing a fantastic job on 7032 working one after another caller…

However - Marjan is sending at 16 WPM (Measured by the RBN), so why do some chasers call him at a speed of 25 WPM or more? This is not good operating procedure macho men - and for some of you your sending spacing is far from perfect anyway! It took you longer to work Marjan than it should have done and you caused unecessary QRM to those of us who call the activator at or close to the speed at which he is sending…

You know who you are, no need to state callsigns here and cause bad feelings!

73 Phil

4 Likes

Spot on Phil! It’s not a contest that we are participating in. Cool it folks!!

Jack(;>J

I couldn’t agree more Phil. Time after time I hear this sort of thing and like you say it delays the whole exchange procedure!

Victor GI4ONL

This kinda puts people off.
Me, being a total novice in field of CW would be put off by it.

Now i ask how many of you would really slow down to help a real novice in CW operations

First thing i better learn is QRS .

One thing i have not learnt yet how on earth do you space between words so the CW don’t get mixed up is another thing i do wonder about. And understand better now the TEXT or shortening of words. So text messaging in shortened words been around a very very long time prior to mobile phones then.

Karl

Absolutely :grinning:

Regarding spacing of words, WHEN you learn CW it will become a lot easier.

Victor GI4ONL

Interestingly Karl years ago when my nieces and nephews were starting to get into texting on their mobile phones they were amazed that their Uncle Jack could ‘wheech!’ (another good Scottish adjective like dreich (;>) along using all these ‘kool’ shortcodes/abbreviations. When I told them it was the way we communicated using CW they at last thought there was some merit in my ‘nutty’ amateur radio hobby - hi!

73 es gl wid ur cw